San Juan County, WA Banner San Juan County, WA Banner
Online Marriage Application

Welcome to the San Juan County Online Marriage Application System

Congratulations on your decision to get married! Completing the process for your marriage license can be done in three easy steps:

  1. Complete this online application (make sure to fill out all fields) and click the Finish button when done.
  2. Come into the San Juan County Auditor’s Office to show your proof of identity and pay for the license.
  3. After the marriage ceremony is done, return the license to our office so it can be recorded.

$62.00 license fee is non-refundable.

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Credit Card

Requirements/Eligibility

You must meet these requirements in order to be considered eligible to apply for a marriage license. Blood tests and medical exams are not required.

  • Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age and must have photo ID.
  • Applicants who are 17 years of age must have written permission by one parent or legal guardian. Such consent must be sworn to and signed before a notary public or Deputy Auditor.
  • Applicants 16 years or under must have written consent from a Superior Court Judge as well as written permission of a parent or guardian. Parental or legal guardian permission must be sworn to and signed before a notary public or Deputy Auditor.

Applicants cannot be first cousins or nearer kin.

A license can be issued one day after the final date of a divorce. Proof of divorce or death is not required to obtain a marriage license.

Witnesses are not necessary to apply for a license, but state law requires that at least two witnesses be present at the ceremony.


License Conditions

Licenses may be obtained in any county in Washington, and can only be used in the State of Washington. Applicants do not have to be residents of the State of Washington to obtain a marriage license. No extensions of time or refunds of money are made once the license is issued.

Waiting Period
There is a three-day waiting period from the day the license is purchased until it can be used.
  • If you will be in San Juan County at least 3 days prior to the ceremony, you can stop by the Courthouse to pay for and pick up your marriage license.
  • If you will not be in San Juan County at least 3 days prior to the ceremony, you will need to have the application notarized locally and then mail it to us in time to be received at least 3 days prior to the ceremony. We do not recommend online application within two weeks of your planned wedding date. More detailed instructions follow the application.

Expiration
Once the license is effective, it is valid for a 60-day period. Marriage license is void and non-refundable if marriage does not take place within 60 days of issue.


Certified Copy

Once the marriage has taken place, and the completed marriage license is returned to the County Auditor, a certified copy will be mailed to you (one copy included with the license fee). An additional official certified copy of the license can be obtained from the County Auditor for $3.00.

Legal Copies
The certified document is considered the legal copy, and can be used by the applicants to change their name on items like a driver's license or social security card.

A decorative marriage certificate will be provided. This is not a legal document and may not be used as proof of marriage. If an issued license is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced at the County Auditor’s office.


© Helion Software - 2019